Resizing System Protection (System Restore) Storage in Windows Vista

Windows Vista does not have an user interface to resize the System Protection (System Restore) storage like Windows XP did. Windows Vista has a command line utility that can accomplish the resizing and moving of the System Protection storage. Resizing or moving the System Protection storage will also affect how many Previous Versions of a document or picture you have stored on your computer.

Resize System Protection (System Restore) in Windows Vista

  1. Open an Elevated Command Prompt windows, refer to "Opening an Elevated Command Prompt" if you need help.
  2. Determine what is the maximum size of System Protection. Type the following in the Elevated Command Prompt window.

    vssadmin List ShadowStorage

    You should see how much storage space System Protection is using, what the allocated space for System Protection, and what the maximum size for System Protection.

  3. Type the following in the Elevated Command Prompt window to resize the maximum size for System Protection.

    vssadmin Resize ShadowStorage /For=C: /On=C: /MaxSize=1GB

    NOTES

    System Protection maximum size cannot be below 300MB. You can have the following suffixes for MaxSize, KB, MB, GB, TB, PB, and EB. If a suffix is not supplied then Windows Vista will use bytes as the suffix.

    More Examples

    If you want the System Protection to be resized to 400MB for Drive C but you want the System Protection storage for Drive C to be located on Drive D then you would type:

    vssadmin Resize ShadowStorage /For=C: /On=D: /MaxSize=400MB

    If you want the System Protection to be resized to 1.5GB for Drive D and have System Protection for Drive D located on Drive D then you would type:

    vssadmin Resize ShadowStorage /For=D: /On=D: /MaxSize=1.5GB

    or

    vssadmin Resize ShadowStorage /For=D: /On=D: /MaxSize=1500MB

WARNING

Resizing or moving System Protection storage may result in loss of shadow copies and system restore point. I would recommend only to resize or move System Protection storage when your computer is operating without difficulties.

Related Articles

Version 1.3
Edited: May 3, 2012

6 Responses to Resizing System Protection (System Restore) Storage in Windows Vista

  1. Lee says:

    I got this error "the specified volume shadow copy storage association was not found" while trying this command: "vssadmin Resize ShadowStorage /For=C: /On=D: /MaxSize=400MB" and according to some thread i found on a forum the error is because the command only works in windows server 2003 and 2008.

  2. BillJr says:

    @Lee Hughes,
     
    Do you have two hard drives or two partitions with the letters of \’C\’ and \’D\’?
     
    If you have only one hard drive with the letter \’C\’ then use this command:vssadmin Resize ShadowStorage /For=C: /On=C: /MaxSize=400MB
     
    This works on Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008. I am not sure about Server 2003 as I have never tested that scenario.
     

    BillJr
     
     

  3. hamid says:

    I have a 4-5 years old hp laptop with two partitions C and D; as the recovery partition. I\’m having problem with my laptop to a point that every month or so I have to revert the laptop to the factory setting. The last time I did that I delete the recovery partition by mistake. Since my laptop came with Vista home premium and it\’s old, I have to install lots of vista updates and a lot more SW that didn\’t come with my laptop. Recently I notice that Vista have this ability to take an image of a partition(system restore). I have an external HD which I like to save an image so if I reinstall the window I could use system restore to a point which I have all the necessary updates and programs. Could anyone tell me if I can do this with my version of Vista (home premium) and how? Do I need to create a dynamic volume or any other type on my external HD? off course I\’ll format this partition to NTFS. Does anybody know a good imaging SW I could purchase if this version of vista could not do thisTHX for your input, Hamid

  4. BillJr says:

    @hamidWindows Vista Home Premium and up can create a System image backup of your computer. I find Windows Imaging is very basic, I use and recommend Acronis True Image which has many options for your needs. The program is not expensive and performs very well, you can find more info here… http://www.acronis.com.

  5. Pingback: How to Turn Off System Protection (System Restore) in Windows Vista « BillJr's Space

  6. Pingback: How to Turn On System Protection (System Restore) in Windows Vista « BillJr's Space

Leave a Reply

